FG Will Extend Sanctions To Kenya, Uganda, Niger Varsities – Education Minister

Afimag.com –

The Federal Government would extend sanctions to Uganda, Kenya and Niger Republic Universities over irregularities in their educational systems.

The Minister of Education, Tahir Mamman, made the disclosure on December 03, 2023, during Channels Television’s Politics Today Programme monitored by AFIMAG.

The decision to withdraw the recognition of trio was a follow-up of the suspension of accreditation and evaluation of degree certificates from Benin Republic and Togo.

“We are not going to stop at just Benin and Togo. We are going to extend the dragnet to countries like Uganda, Kenya, even Niger here where such institutions have been set up,” the minister announced.

Recently, a journalist attached to Daily Nigeria Newspaper who was deployed for the National Youth Service Corps after acquiring a degree from a university in Benin Republic under two months reported the country’s academic processes.

Nigerian Government had, however, discontinued accreditation of certificates from the two francophone West African nations and commenced a thorough investigation, according to the minister, its report would be submitted within 90 days.

Mamman further stated that the students who sought solace in such institutions were not victims but criminals, and would be punished accordingly.

According to him, “I have no sympathy for such people. Instead, they are part of the criminal chain that should be arrested.”

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments