Ondo APC Primary: Gov Aiyedatiwa Coasting To Victory Amid Protests

As the collation of the All Progressives Congress, APC, governorship primary election results in Ondo State begun, incumbent Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa is coasting to victory amid protests from other aspirants.

Aiyedatiwa contested the April 20, 2024, APC governorship primary election alongside 15 other aspirants.

The governor was in early lead as results continued to hit in from polling units across the state on Saturday evening.

Although, the seven-man Electoral Committee of the party led by Governor Ahmed Ododo of Kogi State was yet to formally announce the winner of the exercise.

It was gathered that the panel may eventually announce the governor as a winner judging from the collated materials.

Lucky Aiyedatiwa was seeking the ticket of the APC alongside 15 other aspirants, which include Olusoji Ehinlanwo, Jimi Odimayo, Jimoh Ibrahim, and the APC National Vice Chairman (South-West), Isaac Kekemeke.

Others were Wale Akinterinwa, Olugbenga Edema, Chief Olusola Oke (SAN), Olamide Ohunyeye, Morayo Lebi, Oladiran Iyantan, Prof. Francis Faduyile, Mayowa Akinfolarin, and Ifeoluwa Oyedele, as well as two female aspirants, Funmilayo Adekojo and Funke Omogoroye.

According to Leadership, a total of 171,922 accredited members of the party were expected to vote in the direct primary election exercise scheduled to hold in 203 Wards of the 18 local government areas of the State.

The governorship primary election conducted on the Saturday was trailed by violence in some locations even as some aspirants alleged that voting did not take place in most of the 203 Wards.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments