Tinubu Seeks Senate Confirmation Of 11 Supreme Court Justices

Afimag.com –

President Ahmed Bola Tinubu has sought the confirmation of the appointment of 11 justices recommended for the Supreme Court by the national assembly.

His request was contained in a letter read by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, during December 20, 2023, plenary session.

The National Judicial Council, NJC, presided by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, had submitted the list of 11 nominees to President Tinubu, but before assuming their roles as Supreme Court justices, these nominees must undergo Senate clearance.

The NJC arrived at this recommendation after considering a pool of 22 nominees for the vacant positions within the Supreme Court.

The proposed justices include Haruna Tsammani (North-east), who previously chaired the Presidential Election Petition Court, as well as Moore Adumein (South-south), Jummai Sankey (North-central), Chidiebere Uwa (South-east), and Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (South-east).

The remaining nominees are Obande Ogbuinya (South-East), Stephen Adah (North-Central), Habeeb Abiru (South-West), JJamilu Tukur (North-West), Abubakar Umar (North-West), and Mohammed Idris (North-Central).

Following the President’s request, the Senate President has assigned the screening and additional legislative review of the nominees to the Senate Committee on Judiciary.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments